Cherry & Cinnamon Clafoutis

Ok, I promise the next thing I cook will be something other than classic French cuisine. There’s something about French food that’s just so comforting. Oh wait, that’s probably just the butter.

IMG_2457
Cherries in a buttered and floured dish. Please use butter, it’s good for your soul

I was spending the day at D’s house when I realised that I left a bag of frozen cherries in his freezer three months ago. I decided that today was the day I was going to make a cherry clafoutis.

IMG_2470
Right before it went in the oven. So pretty.

Unfortunately, I also realised I had no almonds or almond extract and it was PISSING rain outside. So instead of braving the elements I improvised. I present to you Cherry and Cinnamon Clafoutis based on the Cherry Clafoutis from Simple Recipes. Not as pretty but the cinnamon is nice with both the eggy aspects of this dish as well as the cherry.

IMG_2466
The cherries bled into the custard a bit because they were frozen and I didn’t drain them entirely. So the end result was a little less pretty, but still very tasty.

I can’t wait for cherries to be in season so I can make this again. Last year all the cherries in my home down green dropped so there were hardly any.

IMG_2472
Fresh out of the oven; still too hot for powdered sugar

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of fresh cherries (I used frozen because it’s March)
  • 2 tablespoons of blanched slivered almonds
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup of sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour
  • 1/8 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of milk (2% or whole milk)
  • 3/4 teaspoon of almond extract (can sub 2 teaspoons of Amaretto)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Powdered sugar for finishing

Method

Preheat oven to 350°F. Butter and flour a 9×9 baking dish (or one of similar dimension, I used what I had which was a round glass baking dish). Scatter cherries over the bottom of the dish (don’t worry about arranging them nicely, they are going to float when you add the egg mixture). Whisk together egg and sugars until smooth, then add flour, salt, milk, vanilla extract, and cinnamon. Pour mixture over the cherries and bake in the oven for 35-45 minutes until the custard is mostly set but still a little wobbly in the middle. Wait for the clafoutis to cool and then sprinkle with powdered sugar.

IMG_2485
Anything sprinkled with powdered sugar immediately becomes a super pretty dessert

 

Leave a Reply

