Ratatouille

Ratatouille is french for “a celebration of vegetables”. Ok, I made that up. Ratatouille is my favourite vegetable dish. It’s super simple and perfectly showcases every vegetable that goes into it. I’ve always always wanted to make one like they did in film Ratatouille and that’s when I stumbled upon THIS recipe. Ratatouille in a cast iron skillet. Now, I should add that I received a cast iron skillet for Valentine’s Day this year and I am totally smitten. However, this recipe would totally work in a french oven or any other deep baking dish that is oven safe.Veggies

Unfortunately, the produce market I do my shopping at does not stock yellow squash so I decided to substitute sweet potato instead. The sweetness worked really well with the sauce.

IMG_2313

If I were to make this dish again I think I would actually cut the vegetables a little thicker as the sauce required the entire hour in the oven but the veggies got a little soft for my liking.

Enjoy!

The Veggies:

  • 2 Japanese eggplant
  • 2 zucchini
  • 1 yellow squash OR 2 sweet potatoes
  • Salt/Pepper

The Sauce:

  • 2 red bell peppers (roasted mine on the stove top for more flavour)
  • 1 can of tomatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 an onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • Salt/Pepper
  • Olive oil for finishing
  • Basil for finishing

Preheat oven to 375. Blend sauce ingredients in a blender. Chop vegetables into thin rounds and season with salt and pepper. To assemble, pour half 3/4 of the sauce into the bottom of the cast iron skillet and arrange the vegetables in a spiral pattern.  Pour the remaining sauce over the top and cover the pan with a piece of parchment paper. The sauce help the parchment stay in place. Cook in the oven for about an hour. Plate and top with a nice olive oil and fresh basil.

Simple and beautiful

-T

 

 

Leave a Reply

